Hastings at sticker(+150K debt) or part time @ Santa Clara? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mdilla

New

Hastings at sticker(+150K debt) or part time @ Santa Clara?

Post by mdilla » Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:45 am

I need advice!

I am 5 years removed from undergrad and currently working at a profitable startup in Silicon Valley in the online media space. The job pays pretty well for my position/experience level (~90K/yr) but isn't stimulating.

I'm planning on going to law school in the fall (IP focus but not patent b/c I have no science/engineering background) and I've been accepted at UC Hastings and the Santa Clara U part-time program. My stats were decent (3.3, 167) but I received no $ from Hastings and very little ($3K) from Santa Clara.

My current job is pretty low stress (40 hrs week, no take-home/weekend work) and I'm in a position to potentially work full time and go to Santa Clara part time. This will certainly mean that life will suck for a few years but I wouldn't have to take a dollar in loans under this arrangement and could potentially still save 25% of my yearly earnings each year if I add the Santa Clara part-time tuition to my current level of expenses.

Choosing Hastings would require that I quit my job and take on $150K in debt. It seems like a big risk to give up my cushy job at this stage and saddle myself with that kind of debt if I don't have to.

Does Hastings' reputation advantage over Santa Clara justify this? Will part-time law school and full-time work crush me?

Puffy

New

Re: Hastings at sticker(+150K debt) or part time @ Santa Clara?

Post by Puffy » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:53 am

quitting a job that you describe yourself as not stressful and well-paying etc. for a very uncertain future with Hastings or SC JD-- If I were in your position, I would not do it. Can't you find a hobby or do some extreme sports for your stimulation?

Borhas

Platinum

Post by Borhas » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:09 pm