PUTTING A DEPOSIT DOWN SOON. 225K on the line. Need advice!! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where would you go if you had to decide between these?

American
8%
UC Boulder
3%
Wake Forest
2%
Temple (w/ $)
6%
Seton Hall (W/ $$)
2%
Rutgers (w/ $$ plus cheap instate tuition)
30%
Ohio State
3%
Fordham Evening Division
44%

Total votes: 86

nymets123

New

PUTTING A DEPOSIT DOWN SOON. 225K on the line. Need advice!!

Post by nymets123 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:06 pm

ok so I basically blanketed schools from 20s-40s (and a few NYC/NJ area schools). I am a new jersey resident and I would like to work in NYC for personal reasons and also the professional opportunities (and poss. would not be opposed to work in DC as well). I am not totally sure which field of law I want to go into after school but I have an interest in government work or maybe corporate if the opportunity presented itself. I have secured the following acceptances:

American
UC Boulder
Wake Forest
Temple (w/ $)
Seton Hall (W/ $$)
Rutgers (w/ $$ plus cheap instate tuition)
Ohio State
Fordham Evening Division

I also remain on 5 waitlists (Washington and Lee, UC Davis, William and Mary, George Mason, and University of British Columbia)

I am strongly leaning towards Fordham PT and will probably deposit there shortly. Obviously I am terrified of paying sticker there and its a major concern for me. I also have apprx 25k in undergrad debt. I will def. be switching over to Full Time after the first year to cut costs in the 4th years living expenses.

Given my goals of working in the northeast (preferrably NYC), is Fordham my best option here? Occasionally when I get really scared about the debt burden I consider going to Rutgers for a quarter of the price, or going to Wake Forest which I have heard some surprisingly positive things about from lawyers working in NJ and a lawyer working big law in NYC.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Thanks I really appreciate it.

GermX

Silver