Advice needed -- better law school vs. cheaper law school? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
karmakmsa

New

Advice needed -- better law school vs. cheaper law school?

Post by karmakmsa » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:21 pm

So far I've been accepted to 2 schools I'm really excited about, GWU and BU. However, the possibility of a scholarship on the horizon for either of these schools is bleak. My parents are unwilling to support me for more than about 10K a year, and that's also about all the money I have to my name right now.

I've gotten scholarship offers from FSU and UGA. I'm also a FL resident, so the scholarship at FSU makes it a full ride. And then there's UF that has cheaper tuition.

So I'm asking....what should I do? Is it worth it to choose GWU or BU over FSU, UF or UGA but have a lot of debt when I graduate? Or should I choose between FSU, UF and UGA and have little to no debt?

Thank you!!!! Help is much appreciated! :)

showNprove

Silver

Re: Advice needed -- better law school vs. cheaper law school?

Post by showNprove » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:25 pm

All of these schools are at least semi-regional. BU will place well from Maine to NYC; GWU from VA to NYC; UGA in Georgia; and FSU and UF in Florida.

Since I think the trade off between the debt and opportunities appear to be pretty equal for you, I would pick the region you were most interested in. If you cannot decide between two regions, take the cheaper school.

jcl2

Bronze

Post by jcl2 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:27 pm

If you want to live in the south I would take one of those southern schools over GWU or BU. GWU and BU aren't really much better than Georgia anyway. The only way I would say GWU or BU are the better decision is if you are sure you want to work in either DC or Boston.

TTTennis

Bronze

Post by TTTennis » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:34 pm