UVA v. NYU Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

For my situation, NYU or UVA?

NYU, even if UVA offers you money
41%
UVA if they offer you money, otherwise NYU
45%
UVA either way
14%

Total votes: 132

democrattotheend

Bronze

UVA v. NYU

Post by democrattotheend » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:47 pm

So far, I have only heard back from two schools, but already I have a big dilemma.

Let's assume for the sake of argument that I get rejected everywhere else I applied, so these are my two choices.

Here are some factors to consider:
1. I am interested in public interest and am very debt averse, but I am not great at living super frugally. So I am concerned about the cost of living in New York. I am not interested in commuting from Brooklyn, and I would probably eat out more than I should.

Also, I am a Virginia resident, so even if I get no scholarship money from UVA, it's still about $8000 cheaper per year. I know that NYU has a better LRAP program, but in the end, I would probably end up borrowing twice as much to attend NYU.

2. I am interested in clerking, and might be interested in DOJ honors or the Department of Labor. I most likely want to return to DC after law school.

3. I have lived in the Northeast my entire life, and I am a liberal Democrat. I also talk really fast. So I am a little bit worried that UVA might be a culture clash.

Basically, I know that NYU is the better fit of the two schools, but in the end, I am not sure if it's worth borrowing twice as much. Right now, my head says UVA, and my heart says NYU.

Given my goals, do you think it's worth the extra money to go to NYU, or is UVA a better choice because of the lower tuition and lower cost of living? If UVA gave me some scholarship money, would that change the equation, assuming I had to pay sticker at NYU?

I could really use some feedback here...
Last edited by democrattotheend on Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scribelaw

Silver

Re: UVA v. NYU