Florida (Gainesville) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MandyNC

New

Florida (Gainesville)

Post by MandyNC » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:50 pm

Hello TLSers,

I'm an NC resident with a 163/3.7 who, while not yet into UNC, is crossing her fingers for it as a top choice. I like North Carolina, and feel the school has opportunities to engage in serious scholarship in addition to offering good prospects in the state.

The hubs, who was on a PhD track in genetics before his project lost funding, just called me completely excited about the University of Florida. He knows people there in the right places, they have strong programs in exactly what he wants to do (tropical butterflies!), etc. etc. etc. He's planning a trip down there to talk to his connections etc. and sounds positive about getting his career back on track for the first time in awhile. Lots of different labs/projects he could work on, in addition to a couple grad programs that would fit his interests in the sciences. I love the hubs, and am not particularly averse to palm trees.

So, a few questions:

1) It is very late in the app. cycle. I submitted over a month ago to my other schools. Is it too late to have a solid shot at UF, with money?
2) How much am I giving up with the drop from UNC to UF? Does that degree have ANY portability?
3) Assuming me, the hubs, and the butterflies hang out in Florida for a few years, are job prospects there decent?
4) What is the culture of the school like? I'm probably getting my app in today just to give us the option, but have this (totally uninformed) picture in my head of undergrad blondies holding beer cans on the beach, and that's all I can picture when I think "Florida."