LSAT score linked to scholarships??? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
bmphelps

New

LSAT score linked to scholarships???

Post by bmphelps » Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:16 am

I am currently studying for the LSAT in June. I have taken a practice LSAT at Kaplan exactly once cold....no prep at all...and got a 157. I have read the study techniques of the highly scoring students and am going to apply some of those really helpful techniques to my study strategy.

However, I want to find out if a high score is really linked to a scholarship offer (as the Kaplan administrator told me on practice test day). Please answer the following:

1. What was your LSAT score?
2. Were you offered any scholarships and if so, where?
3. Were they full or partial?

Thanks!

RTR10

Bronze

Re: LSAT score linked to scholarships???

Post by RTR10 » Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:19 am

The answer to your question is HELL YES.

The schools really only want your LSAT and GPA. It's a business, they don't care what you did (unless it's HYS, and of course they care what you did as well). Schools really trying to move up in the rankings will do pretty much anything to get a high LSAT to matriculate.

cantwaitforuva

Silver

Post by cantwaitforuva » Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:15 pm

YES YES YES

Merit scholarships are usually based purely on your LSAT/GPA combination.

I scored 170

1. Cornell - $45K
2. UICU - Full ride
3. Duke - $54K
4. Georgetown - $60K
5. UVA - $54K

and some others I don't remember

bmphelps

New

Post by bmphelps » Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:23 pm

Please don't think I'm an idiot, but I envision someone bending on their knee with the scholarship on a satin pillow, pleading "Please please go to my school!" :lol: