178/3.73 non-URM Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
s'all good, man

New

178/3.73 non-URM

Post by s'all good, man » Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:44 pm

Hi all,

I graduated from the University of Chicago earlier this year and currently work at a legal think tank in DC. I plan on entering law school in fall 2020 and hope to submit my applications as soon as the portals open in August/September etc.

What are my chances at HYS/CCN, assuming that I am able to apply extremely early? I think my softs are pretty good and that I have a cohesive story to tell in my personal statement.

I know that I can punch all this into MyLSN, but it's nice to hear what people think! Thanks.

UVA2B

Gold

Re: 178/3.73 non-URM

Post by UVA2B » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:22 pm

You should be looking at a T13 for a good discount. That should be your goal. T6 may happen, but you’re better off with $150k discount at Duke or NU instead of going to CLS for close to full price.

If you’re aiming for strictly PI, this entire calculus changes.

As always: Law school admission is not the goal, and it shouldn’t be treated that way. Disabuse yourself of a mindset that gets excited about an acceptance to Harvard or Chicago because any school you attend comes with a nondischargeable price tag.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:36 pm

UVA2B wrote:If you’re aiming for strictly PI, this entire calculus changes.
To expand on this a bit, if you're the slightest bit on the fence about what you want to do out of law school, then you are not in the "strictly PI" bucket.