Odds of Acceptance?!?! Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
unchem2010

New

Odds of Acceptance?!?!

Post by unchem2010 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:21 pm

Let me first start out with a disclaimer that I know my stats are not good (2.7 from UNC Chapel Hill in chemistry and 154 LSAT). But, I have a PhD in Chemistry (3.90) worked as a Lab Manager, published over 30 peer-review science articles, published a legal article, passed the patent bar, and work at a top 30 law firm as a patent agent (for 3 years) and the firm is paying for me to go. The trick is, it has to be part time and I have to commute from midtown Manhattan. Obviously, Fordham would be a top choice (though unlikely) followed by Rutgers, Seton Hall and Brooklyn (and NYLS though I'm trying to not consider it). The firm doesn't REALLY care where I go to law school, because it's the PhD and firm experience they care about... but for future prospects, I want to go somewhere decent. I am taking the LSAT again in January and practice testing in the mid-160s.

Any thoughts? Any advice? Any suggestions? Are any of these school attainable or worth a shot, or will I be relegated to NYLS?

Thanks!!!

solarbear

New

Re: Odds of Acceptance?!?!

Post by solarbear » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:35 pm

Is there any way you can push it back for a year? A January LSAT is quite late in the application cycle for most schools, and it seems like you understand how big of a difference 10+ points on LSAT would make for your admissions prospects.

If you have the luxury of waiting a year, I would take it in January (and maybe even June) and really focus on getting that score up. You clearly have the ability to do well on the test -- it's just a matter of executing, and Fordham vs. NYLS will make a world of difference in your legal career if you ever have to move firms.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:54 pm