Am I doomed? GMU Law prospective student Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
terrychocolate

New

Am I doomed? GMU Law prospective student

Post by terrychocolate » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:59 am

I already know what everybody is going to say - "retake the LSAT", which I know I need to do but unfortunately I may not have time... As for my background, I'm a female Hispanic with a master's degree in economics from GMU (still attending) and an undergraduate degree in political science and economics. I currently have a 3.95 GPA at GMU with fellowship awards, scholarships from various institutions and organizations, and I have been on the Dean's List every semester. I work as a consultant full time at a big law firm, and spend half my time in our European office working directly with the EU Commission and the other half working with the U.S. government. I speak multiple languages and have great recommendations, along with a pretty solid (I think) personal statement. Unfortunately, I have quite possibly the worst LSAT score I have ever seen. What confuses me the most is that I received a 155 on my diagnostic test BEFORE I started self-studying and then received a 167 on my last PT test prior to the Sept. exam. I thought worst case scenario is I would get a 155 because of nerves, but nope, I got a 144... I am still completely baffled by this but it is what it is. I think I tried to juggle too much at once - work, travel for work, and full-time night school graduate student. The reason why I can't retake the test anytime soon is because I'll be going back to Europe for work from Oct - early Aug (before law school), and my employers want me to attend law school part-time as soon as possible. The plan is I would eventually become a law clerk, summer associate, then associate at the firm.