3.7, 4.0 GPAs, 153, mid-career Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
HazeGrey

New

3.7, 4.0 GPAs, 153, mid-career

Post by HazeGrey » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:03 am

Law school has always been churning in the back of my mind throughout my career. I have my MS in Computer Science and I like my career as a software developer for the most part.

My GPA for undergrad: 3.7, grad school: 4.0. But I have been told that grad school GPA does not hold as much weight for law school admission.

I am not happy with my 153...I have never been a good test-taker, though I was a strong student. Similarly, my average SAT scores did not align with my strong high school GPA.
Naturally this concerns me as an indicator that I would struggle in law school and as a lawyer.

My GRE scores were actually pretty decent (comparatively) in 2005 when I was applying for grad school, so I plan to take the GRE again.

I am a female Navy veteran from the southeast.

I am planning to apply to:
PSU-Dickinson
Univ. of Richmond
Elon
Campbell
perhaps some SEC schools (Kentucky, Ole Miss, South Carolina)

Thank you for any input.

nixy

Gold

Re: 3.7, 4.0 GPAs, 153, mid-career

Post by nixy » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:43 am

The 153 isn't an indicator of anything except you haven't sufficiently learned how to take the LSAT yet. It's a very game-able test and rewards effort as much (if not more) than raw ability.

But why do you want to leave your career if you like it? What would you want to do with a law degree? Frankly, those schools aren't very good for getting legal jobs after graduation (especially depending on your goals).

hoos89

Gold

Post by hoos89 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:59 am

HazeGrey wrote:I have my MS in Computer Science and I like my career as a software developer for the most part.