3.82 GPA, 165 LSAT, Teach for America-T14 chances? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Teacherlawyer1995

New

3.82 GPA, 165 LSAT, Teach for America-T14 chances?

Post by Teacherlawyer1995 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:37 am

Hello,

Graduated from UC Berkeley with a 3.9 & Phi Beta Kappa. However, my overall LSAC GPA is on the lower end bc I got around a 3.5 my first semester of college at NYU before having to leave for financial reasons and transferring to UC Berkeley. I recently graduated and am a first year corps member with Teach for America here in Oakland. I have a passion for ed, law and policy and am hoping to do a JD/MPP to become and immigration lawyer or to work with public school districts. I have 3+ years of experience in education not including TFA.

I haven't taken the official LSAT yet since I won't be applying until fall 2018 but my practice scores put me around 165 fairly consistently without having taken a formal prep class or really adhering to much of a strict study schedule. I'm planning to take a prep course over the summer and study full time.

My top choices are UC Berkeley/Stanford since I really want to stay in the Bay Area (lived my whole life here, wanting to stay local bc I want to settle here). However, I am open to relocating if it's still T14.

Wondering what my chances are currently & what kind of LSAT score would I need considering my softs? I have quite a bit of time to improve my LSAT score and potentially take an extra year before law school to do something more law related opposed to teaching, perhaps research with education policy or working with an immigration law firm (just ideas aligned to my passions).

mcmand

Silver

Re: 3.82 GPA, 165 LSAT, Teach for America-T14 chances?

Post by mcmand » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:43 am