3.58/175, T10 Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
PWADatUNC

New

3.58/175, T10

Post by PWADatUNC » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:08 pm

I am a non-URM, one time LSAT taker. My adjusted GPA is 3.58 (3.49 actual). I am a Virginia resident, and really want to attend UVA for law school. However, I am very risk averse financially and do not want to take on an enormous amount of debt. What are my chances at t10? I have applied to:

Harvard
Columbia
UVA
Duke
Vanderbilt
Washington & Lee
William and Mary

I want to clerk in VA or DC after graduation. What are my chances of admission at the t10 schools, and getting scholarships at others? I've looked at myLSN but there isn't an option to see instate vs out-of-state.

Nebby

Diamond

Re: 3.58/175, T10

Post by Nebby » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:27 pm

Clemenceau

Silver

Post by Clemenceau » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm

PWADatUNC wrote:I am a non-URM, one time LSAT taker. My adjusted GPA is 3.58 (3.49 actual). I am a Virginia resident, and really want to attend UVA for law school. However, I am very risk averse financially and do not want to take on an enormous amount of debt. What are my chances at t10? I have applied to:

Harvard
Columbia
UVA
Duke
Vanderbilt
Washington & Lee
William and Mary

I want to clerk in VA or DC after graduation. What are my chances of admission at the t10 schools, and getting scholarships at others? I've looked at myLSN but there isn't an option to see instate vs out-of-state.
Apply more broadly. You say you're "very risk averse financially," so you should absolutely apply to all of the t14 and negotiate scholarships. You're likely leaving money on the table by applying to only the schools you mentioned.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:30 pm

What are your long-term career goals? You'll only spend 1-2 years as a clerk, so what do you actually want to do with your degree?