170 / 3.4 (grade deflation at P?) Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
ittm500

New

170 / 3.4 (grade deflation at P?)

Post by ittm500 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:29 am

Hey everyone,

170 LSAT
~3.4 GPA (not sure of LSAC GPA just yet but I rounded down from my personal calculation of 3.43)
Within my department (Politics) my GPA still qualified as Cum Laude.
Non-URM
LGBT and will be writing a diversity statement when allowed

Have spent 4 years working in state government for a state representative (one of my recommenders) - on the staff of a legislative committee working directly on policy research and legislation and gained a deep knowledge of the subject area. I'm basing all my admissions and scholarship apps around a strong and continued commitment to public service and public policy.

I also have a specific question. I graduated in 2013 from Princeton, shortly before the school ended its official policy of grade deflation. Do I do anything about this in my application? Is this worthy of mention in an addendum? Yes, I had a few poor grades. But deflation could potentially mitigate a trend of mediocre grades. I excelled at independent work which was not graded on a curve but was included in my GPA.

My list:
UC Berkeley
Georgetown
NYU
Columbia
U Chicago
Harvard
Stanford
Penn
BC
BU

Also applying to MPP/MPA programs at these schools to pursue joint degrees. This has no bearing on admission to any of their law schools though.

Thanks!

cavalier1138

Re: 170 / 3.4 (grade deflation at P?)

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:14 am

Unless LSAC factors in grade deflation, I don't see your GPA getting mitigated here.

Also, just because you mentioned an interest in policy and doing a joint MPP: what do you plan to do with your JD?

Snuffles1

New

Post by Snuffles1 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:54 am

I wouldn't mention it.