Nontraditional (Probable) Splitter: Where Should I Realistically Look?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
baxter

New

Nontraditional (Probable) Splitter: Where Should I Realistically Look?

Postby baxter » Sun Dec 25, 2016 5:18 pm

Finally decided to take the plunge and go to law school in Fall 2018 (I'll be 31 :shock:) and would like some advice on what are realistic options for me. I got my bachelor's degree in January 2009 and have been working in publishing, higher ed administration, and nonprofit communications (education-focused) since graduating. I want to represent unions/workers and really like the idea of being an in-house attorney for a labor organization or working for a small/mid-sized firm that represents labor.

LSDAS GPA: 3.36 from a top-tier private university, history major, graduated early—had a tough time adjusting to the rigors of college work and was sub-3.0 my first semester but have a definitive upward trend (sophomore-senior year is 3.47, junior-senior is 3.55). I also did a semester's worth of liberal arts grad work at an Ivy League university where I got a 3.67.

LSAT: I just took the June 2007 diagnostic test and got a 153 without having consulted any prep books, materials, etc. I plan to take the LSAT in September and use the PowerScore Self-Study Package + several dozen PTs and am aiming for 165-170.

Because going into Biglaw is not a priority for me, would it be worth it to try to apply to any T20 schools? I really like the idea of minimizing cost if a high-profile job isn't my goal, so have been looking into schools like Ohio State, Illinois, and Temple (I'm relocating to Philly for work soon so would be in-state and think I could qualify for the Beasley Scholarship if my LSAT is high enough), but would definitely consider paying more for somewhere better with great employment prospects if I could get in.