HLS chances - strong softs

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
gs999

New

HLS chances - strong softs

Postby gs999 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:09 am

Hey all,

I am a recent college graduate working within investment banking, I have a 3.77 GPA from my undergraduate institution but a 3.8 overall as calculated by LSAC. The abnormality here is that prior to my senior year I had a 3.99 GPA, but fell very ill in the fall and had to withdraw from classes and complete others from home a few hundred miles away. In order to graduate and keep my job, I had to graduate this spring and ultimately took 30 credits this past semester. I did this while simultaneously running the 3 largest organizations on campus.

In order to not dox myself, I am being purposely vague; but I started working near full-time at 14, with a majority of that work focused on efforts in my community and in politics. I was the first student from my university to get hired by my current employer and serve on the board for two large political organizations in my region.

My fear is that my transcript is a bit of a nightmare over the past year, and I'm a fairly poor standardized test taker, although I have been able to get my practice LSAT scores up to ~170. I'm aware of the perception that law school admissions is a numbers game but will they take medical situations under consideration? I've discussed with my attending physician from last year when I fell ill and he is more than willing to write an addendum to my application notifying adcom of the severity of my illness.

Looking forward to your comments.

cavalier1138

Gold

Re: HLS chances - strong softs

Postby cavalier1138 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:15 am

I didn't see anything in there to indicate strong softs, unless the "political organizations" that you serve on the board for are the ACLU and the UN.