Non-trad, crappy LSAC GPA but stellar school GPA. What do?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cinnamon_bun

New

Non-trad, crappy LSAC GPA but stellar school GPA. What do?

Postby cinnamon_bun » Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:57 pm

You guys, I'm kinda upset.

So to make a long story short I am a non-trad student. Back in 2013 I withdrew (late) from two semesters back to back because I was kinda limping along in life, heavily depressed and I desperately wanted to be able to finish classes. I think I ended up with something like 19 "F" credits in the eyes of LSAC, with the rest of my professors taking mercy on me and giving me non-punitive withdrawal grades anyway. TL:DR, I coudn't handle schoolwork (or life at all) despite trying my best.

Before then, I was an excellent student with a 3.85 GPA. After then, I've since gone back to school and am on track to graduate with a 4.0 GPA. In the interim I built up a successful career and carved out a spot for myself as a consultant in a super niche industry. I'm leaps and bounds better and I was thinking of applying to T-14s, but imagine my surprise when I heard that LSAC counts aaaaaallllll grades in your GPA, not just ones counting towards you BA. Yikes!

I've been studying for the LSAT for the past 4 or 5 months very diligently, and I've been doing practice tests like it's my job: my range thus far has been 169 to my highest of 178. I know I can do this if they just give me a shot, but I'm really bummed out at the LSAC and I'm thisclose to just giving up on law school entirely. It seems like such an unfair thing to do, though I know they must have their reasons.

So... what are my chances?

cavalier1138

Platinum

Re: Non-trad, crappy LSAC GPA but stellar school GPA. What do?

Postby cavalier1138 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:08 pm