Non-trad, 4.0 GPA, 172 LSAT

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
newyorkobserveher

New

Non-trad, 4.0 GPA, 172 LSAT

Postby newyorkobserveher » Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:47 pm

I'm a non-trad student (out of school for 5 years owning my own small business).

I have a 4.0 B.A. in Jurisprudence from a small, slightly obscure school. My end goal is to go to the best possible school that can give me the most scholarship money as I am extremely loan averse. I'm not interested at all in HYS unless they could give some merit aid which is probably unlikely because straight up geniuses go there.

I am from NYC and would love to go to a school here, but I also haven't ruled out working in Texas because COL is so much lower...

So I guess my question is basically: where could I get in that would give me some serious merit aid? Thoughts?

theconsigliere

Bronze

Re: Non-trad, 4.0 GPA, 172 LSAT

Postby theconsigliere » Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:46 pm

I'd start your list with T13 + Texas. Deliberately excluded Georgetown a) out of principle and b) because you will probably get better money elsewhere.

-There's no merit aid for anyone at HYS (even the few geniuses). Doesn't necessarily mean you shouldn't apply, especially to H. Although they might not be good fits for you because of your debt aversion.

-You're a great candidate for CCN. I think best case scenario for you is a large scholly to one of these schools. Keep in mind that Columbia and NYU are the most expensive schools out there because of NYC cost of living. Check out the admissions spreadsheets in the acceptances, details, waitlists forum for numbers of people who received Butlers, Hamiltons, Rubys, the many named schollys from NYU, etc. note: don't want to get your hopes up on schollys like Hamilton/Ruby. I have no idea what it takes to get these, but I know people with 172/4.0 have got them before (although 172 is on the lower end for sure).