Not Sure What's Going to Happen...

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
2ndchance

New

Not Sure What's Going to Happen...

Postby 2ndchance » Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:19 pm

I have a question that I thought someone might be able to answer for me.

I very much would like to attend law school next year, hopefully in the Fall (2017). I, however, have what some would call a less than stellar academic past. I've been working on my undergrad for about ten years, transferred schools a few times, and changed my major just as many. The good news is, I am scheduled to graduate at the end of this year. Long story short, I found out I have a learning disability and as a result, my grades have been awful (~2.3 GPA). About three years ago my wife and I moved and out of necessity I have just been working. Last year, however, I started school again and currently have a 4.0 GPA. From what I've been told, when I graduate my grades post transfer will be what is reflected in my degree. If I keep this up until graduation, I'll graduate with honors but will it even matter?

My question is this.... Will my cumulative GPA be taken into account when applying to schools, or will the grades I have earned since transferring and completing my degree be the one's evaluated?

Do situations such as being a professional athlete in the past or having a great work resume hold any weight with schools?

I'm very confident that I'll do well on the LSAT as I've done well with the practice.

Thank you in advance for all of you help!
Last edited by 2ndchance on Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mikey

Platinum

Re: Not Sure What's Going to Happen...

Postby Mikey » Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:47 pm

Admissions committees will see your upward trend in GPA. But to answer your question, every single grade/credit that you earned since you began college up until you are awarded your first bachelors degree will count.