174 LSAT and either 2.9/3.0 GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
utdallaskid

New

174 LSAT and either 2.9/3.0 GPA

Post by utdallaskid » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:46 am

Currently trying to calculate my GPA and due to dual credit courses which are hard to find and couple retakes its hard to tell what it'll be. Pretty much what happened was this past semester I took courses which the advisor said were Credit / No Credit and practically bombed them and turns out (surprise!) they're actually graded.

So I have a 174 LSAT and a roughly 3.0 GPA.
URM for Native American.

I'm really looking at top tier 2 schools where I can focus on certain metro areas specifically to work in depending where I land.
A couple I'm considering:

1. SMU
2. ASU
3. University of Houston
4. Vandy
5. Georgetown

I have two years of experience in risk management (insurance and legal compliance) which ties very well into my story as well as 2 years in a insurance analysis position.

Any suggestions to which schools have become more splitter friendly and general discussion on whether its a good idea to go to a T2 in a metro area and aim for top 1/4 to top 10%?
Last edited by utdallaskid on Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wiz

Diamond

Re: 174 LSAT and either 2.9/3.0 GPA

Post by wiz » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:05 am

UVA and Northwestern are known for being especially splitter friendly. In addition to those + Michigan/Georgetown, you might also have a chance at NYU (though it's possible you're below their GPA floor?).