2.91 GPA/157 LSAT

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
justdroppingby

2.91 GPA/157 LSAT

Postby justdroppingby » Thu May 07, 2015 1:26 pm

Mediocre GPA and LSAT score. I've been working as a legal assistant for the past 5 years in a smallish (but well known locally) commercial real estate firm. Trying to move on up the food chain. Does it matter when I took the LSAT if the score is still valid? My score is from June 2011.

Mainly focused on part-time evening program at American University (or comparable school in the DC/MD/VA area) but would be open to moving back to NNJ for Rutgers/Seton Hall or the like. Can get a great recommendation and/or evaluation (should I get both?) from my current employer.

Thoughts? Thanks.

Traynor Brah

Re: 2.91 GPA/157 LSAT

Postby Traynor Brah » Thu May 07, 2015 1:33 pm

for the love of allah do not go to american

Go to the cheapest school possible while keeping your full time job. When attending part time and not gunning for biglaw/sexy outcomes, the school is effectively irrelevant so long as it is in the region you want to practice in. If you can't find an option that allows you to graduate with no more than ~50-60K in debt, then don't do it. This is very likely going to require you to do better on the lsat.

blsingindisguise

Postby blsingindisguise » Thu May 07, 2015 1:34 pm

For the love of everything don't go to law school at all.

OhBoyOhBortles

Postby OhBoyOhBortles » Thu May 07, 2015 1:37 pm

Do you have a guaranteed position with your current employer after graduation from law school? If you do, just focus on minimizing debt through a retake/scholarships. If you don't, you've got a tough road ahead of you with that gpa. You'll likely need a 170+ but even then you'd be facing down ridiculous debt totals to go to a school that has decent employment outcomes. Realistically speaking, you may want to consider other professions.