Mediocre GPA from elite undergrad institution Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Carpin

New

Mediocre GPA from elite undergrad institution

Post by Carpin » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:27 pm

Hi all, I'm an international student with a BA and an MA in philosophy from Britain's two elite institutions, but my GPAs are mediocre. (They are British-style grades, which probably translate to about 3.3-3.4 at undergrad, and about 3.6 at MA level.) Suppose these are coupled with 170 in LSAT. Do you think I stand a chance for being half-funded at a T14 school? How far do you think the reputation of undergrad institution will compensate for low GPA?

Views much appreciated. Thanks!

GreenEggs

Gold

Re: Mediocre GPA from elite undergrad institution

Post by GreenEggs » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:30 pm

Carpin wrote:Hi all, I'm an international student with a BA and an MA in philosophy from Britain's two elite institutions, but my GPAs are mediocre. (They are British-style grades, which probably translate to about 3.4-3.5 at undergrad, and about 3.6 at MA level.) Suppose these are coupled with 170 in LSAT. Do you think I stand a chance for being half-funded at a T14 school? How far do you think the reputation of undergrad institution will compensate for low GPA?

Why suppose? If you don't have an LSAT score yet the question is pretty moot.

Half funded is tough with a 3.4 UGPA, but a high 170s maybe.
Last edited by GreenEggs on Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alan Grant

New

Post by Alan Grant » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:58 pm

DCfilterDC wrote: