3.59 / 167 / Masters Degree / military officer Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
sean2win

New

3.59 / 167 / Masters Degree / military officer

Post by sean2win » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:44 pm

Hi, I really want to get into the T14. Just not sure how much my softs make up for my mediocre UGPA and LSAT. I will apply in the 2016 cycle.

UGPA: 3.59 from West Point (do service academies get a boost here?)
LSAT: 167 on first take, this is about what I was scoring on my PTs.

Softs: I hold an MSc in Latin American Studies from Oxford University in the UK (no GPA attached to the masters). I earned this on a one year Rotary foundation scholarship immediately following graduation from West Point. For WE I'm currently a lieutenant in the Army learning to fly helicopters. No combat deployments. When I apply to law school I'll have about three years on active duty.

If you're curious, I'll apply for the Army's Funded Legal Education Program this November to become a JAG after law school.

Thanks for your time!

ILoveYou

Silver

Re: 3.59 / 167 / Masters Degree / military officer

Post by ILoveYou » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:55 pm

With those stats and softs, you're likely in at several of the lower t14. I say it's definitely doable at Northwestern, Michigan, etc. FWIW, I got into NU (don't know about $ yet) this cycle with similar stats (though my UGPA was higher) and much less impressive softs.

Thanks for your service and good luck!

sean2win

New

Post by sean2win » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:59 pm

Thanks for the response. Any chance at Stanford or Columbia or would I be wasting my time and money?

NonTradLawHopeful

Bronze

Post by NonTradLawHopeful » Mon Mar 09, 2015 6:18 pm

Do you know what the yearly tuition cap is for FLEP right now? That might limit your options too, depending on how much merit aid you receive at a school.