3.3 GPA BS and MS...Former Med student

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Ouchie

3.3 GPA BS and MS...Former Med student

Postby Ouchie » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:39 pm

Hi, Im 27 years old, with a BS in Molecular & Microbio, and a MS in Molecular Medicine. My GPA for both majors was a 3.3. I went to medical school for a year and dropped out. I have been working in Clinical Research for 3 years now, and was considering law school, and taking the LSAT in June 2015. What are your thoughts regarding someone with my background, getting into a top law school, given my average-to-below average GPA? Is it worth taking the time and effort to study for the LSAT? Thanks

Rigo

Re: 3.3 GPA BS and MS...Former Med student

Postby Rigo » Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:25 pm

Ouchie wrote:Hi, Im 27 years old, with a BS in Molecular & Microbio, and a MS in Molecular Medicine. My GPA for both majors was a 3.3. I went to medical school for a year and dropped out. I have been working in Clinical Research for 3 years now, and was considering law school, and taking the LSAT in June 2015. What are your thoughts regarding someone with my background, getting into a top law school, given my average-to-below average GPA? Is it worth taking the time and effort to study for the LSAT? Thanks

People with your GPA get into good law schools every year. You will need a high LSAT score to outweigh your sub-par GPA.

It doesn't sound like you're too gung-ho about law though. What are your career goals?

Ouchie

Postby Ouchie » Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:28 am

thanks for the reply.