165 LSAT, 2.99 Undergrad GPA, looking for advice

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Angstrom

165 LSAT, 2.99 Undergrad GPA, looking for advice

Postby Angstrom » Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:24 pm

I'll probably retake the LSAT one more time, but I have a 165 in the bag so let's go with that.

My undergrad GPA is 2.99 from Northwestern with a major in computer engineering and minor in economics. It's a less than ideal GPA but it was a difficult course load at a good school. Does that make any difference?

I have a master's in electrical engineering from a state institution with a 4.0 GPA. Will that count for anything?

I believe I have a few unique things going for me. I passed the Principles and Practice of Engineering Exam and have earned licensure as a Professional Engineer (PE). I want to study IP law and I think that my PE license, coupled with several years of work experience as an engineer, will give me very strong credentials in that field.

My goal isn't to attend a T14 school, although I'd like to get accepted to one for scholarship negotiations. Right now, my goal is to attend U of Iowa with as much tuition covered as possible. I currently live in Iowa and would like to continue working in my current job (which will accommodate a school schedule) while I attend law school.

So, what are my chances, both at Iowa and at any T14 school? Do I have a shot at any money? Will my PE license and work experience count for anything? If I retake the LSAT one more time, what type of score do I need?

Thanks in advance.

downbeat14

Re: 165 LSAT, 2.99 Undergrad GPA, looking for advice

Postby downbeat14 » Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:27 pm

Last edited by downbeat14 on Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dog

Postby Dog » Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:33 pm