URM Male 3.6 170+ Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
blueme2

New

URM Male 3.6 170+

Post by blueme2 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:17 pm

Okay guys, this is probably going to sound dumb, but I'm a Spanish major and have mostly taken easy blowoff classes in my UG. I studied my butt off for the LSAT and ended up scoring a 170+ I am an AA male. I know I'm an AA male and get a little boost or whatever, BUT in all honesty, I have almost no good softs except for a law firm internship I did while studying abroad in Costa Rica. Should I still be applying for the top schools? or should I aim for t30/my strong regionals?

I just feel so average despite having a good lsat score and AA because of the lack of rigor demonstrated in my UG transcript and almost no softs =/ anyone know how law schools will see that?

RZ5646

Gold

Re: URM Male 3.6 170+

Post by RZ5646 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:19 pm

blueme2 wrote:Spanish major and have mostly taken easy blowoff classes in my UG ... lack of rigor demonstrated in my UG transcript
Just curious, why is your GPA so low then?

blueme2

New

Post by blueme2 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:23 pm

RZ5646 wrote:
blueme2 wrote:Spanish major and have mostly taken easy blowoff classes in my UG ... lack of rigor demonstrated in my UG transcript
When I studied intensive Spanish abroad I got a B+ in that class for both semesters, before that I had a 3.8+ The class was worth many credits.

It still haunts me to this day. Sometimes I go, "what if I didn't study in that stupid program?" I just had a really hard time out there even though I gave it my best.

ballcaps

Silver

Post by ballcaps » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:41 pm

dude. AA male/3.6/170?

game over. T6, probably HYS.

transferror

Silver

Post by transferror » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:47 pm

RZ5646 wrote:
Jesus, a 3.6 is not low. No school is out of reach with a 3.6, especially for an AA male.