3.36/168 - does WE matter? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
JuanitaFromTheDiner

New

3.36/168 - does WE matter?

Post by JuanitaFromTheDiner » Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:32 pm

3.36 lsac gpa and 168 lsat. I retook in Sept. because I was scoring in the low-mid 170s...and got a 166. Female non-URM. I've seen the mylsn #s for the T14 and they're not great. I'm also planning on applying to schools 15-20 and maybe a few 20-25.

However, I have 6 years' work experience and a successful career in publishing. Emphasizing that in my PS and 2/3 LORs are from employers, in addition to a professor/mentor's letter that emphasizes my mostly upward trend in gpa. Will my WE make a difference at all, especially in the T14? Any advice on what schools I should focus on? Columbia sent me a fee waiver - I'm assuming that's "yield protection"?

Thanks everyone - I really appreciate the advice on TLS.

BigZuck

Diamond

Re: 3.36/168 - does WE matter?

Post by BigZuck » Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:42 pm

No, that work experience isn't going to cause you to out-perform your numbers. Might be helpful during the job search in a couple years though.

Why law school? Why are you leaving a successful career and what do you want to do with a JD?

Are you considering retaking again?

JuanitaFromTheDiner

New

Post by JuanitaFromTheDiner » Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:45 pm

Haha - good question about the job given the tenuous (though improving) job market after law school. Long story short, I moved up the ladder really quickly in publishing and just feel like I've accomplished everything I wanted to in my career now. I'm interested largely in IP, given the work I do now on contracts and book rights.