WHat Should I do?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
valpocl425

WHat Should I do?

Postby valpocl425 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:40 pm

Ok, I apologize in advance for being so long-winded but I want to provide as comprehensive an account as possible in order to get hopefully helpful advice. Basically, from what I've read here, I am nowhere near your typical applicant. I was a music major and did my undergrad at Juilliard and my master's at the Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. During my undergrad I took extra classes at Columbia in history, philosophy, politics and other liberal arts subjects (Juilliard and Columbia have a type of exchange where students at one can study at the other without a separate application or extra cost). While in grad school I studied economics at Hopkins and have the credit equivalent of a minor (Peabody is part of Johns Hopkins so again I could study whatever and wherever I wanted). Since graduating I have been freelancing and teaching at the college level and I launched a small grassroots nonprofit in Arlington VA that gives free daily music instruction to children of low income families, mostly Hispanics. My mother is a Hispanic immigrant and my father is American but I claim URM, and have done so in the past at the urging of former admissions personnel. As a musician I have performed and taught all over the world in such venues as Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and the Royal Concert Hall in Amsterdam and in low income areas throughout South and Central America. While I pursued my passion, I always was interested in other things (hence the extra studies) and long term see myself working in another field. In terms of the law, I have an interest in international law and would ideally like to work for the government or in trade and commerce or quite possibly immigration, but obviously I'd take whatever I could get. I did take the LSAT and