3.78 cGPA and 170 LSAT

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
lhz

3.78 cGPA and 170 LSAT

Postby lhz » Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:59 am

Is Harvard or Yale possible?

Also: very scanty volunteer experience, only work experience is in retail and retail management. No real extra curricular activities...

Philafaler

Re: 3.78 cGPA and 170 LSAT

Postby Philafaler » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:04 am

Is that the LSAC GPA? Are you URM? Check mylsn.info; it looks like a couple people with your numbers got H.

lhz

Postby lhz » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:11 am

cumulative GPA for 4 years, at UofT we just refer to your final GPA at the end of your degree as cGPA and all other sessional GPA(s) as your GPA...totally confusing. Should I retake the LSAT though because my GPA's sort of on the lower end? also, I'm new at this, URM, mylsn.info...will make a mental note to figure out what those are.
my law school numbers? am I close?

oh and does it hurt my chances that it's an HBSc. not a bachelor of arts? I did minor in political science, but my actual degree is a science degree, but I heard you're taught everything from scratch in year 1 anyways

Philafaler

Postby Philafaler » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:21 am

Welcome to TLS by the way. A couple things:

The LSAC might calculate your GPA differently than your school does, so you need to look into that to get an exact GPA. Mylsn allows you to look at how different ranges of GPAs and LSAT scores performed in prior years. So, I can see that with that GPA and LSAT at least a couple people got into H, but not Yale or Stanford. URM is an under represented minority, and it gives a major admissions boost.

Retake is probably a good idea if you think you can improve. How did you study originally?

Also, I have no idea what an HBSc is, but I don't think it will matter at all.

lhz

Postby lhz » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:27 am