3.0 170, Need advice

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
czm2100

3.0 170, Need advice

Postby czm2100 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:39 am

Hi everyone, I hoping you all can give me some much-needed advice.

I graduated with a B.A. in journalism from a large public university last summer, and I'm wondering what you guys might think about my chances in law school. I realize my GPA is pretty low, but it's mostly all because of a mistakes I made during my freshman year: I switched majors from computer science after I got three straight Cs in math classes, and then withdrew from calculus when it was obvious I was going to get a D; this gave me a W on my transcript and I have another W from when I transferred between two classes. After that, I switched to writing and averaged a 3.2 within my major.

I spoke with an admissions counselor at a 'law school career fair'-type thing who told me that many schools would let me add an addendum to my application where I could explain my GPA; do most schools allow this, or was it something you guys havent heard of before?

I also have internship expeience working at a large metropolitan weekly newspaper, have published writing samples and speak an intermediate level of Arabic.

Anyway, I took the LSAT and got a 170. I would really like to go to either a school in Oregon, Washington or California; do you think my chances are good at the major ones like UW? I realize I'm probibly out of the T-14 league already, but would my internship and writing experience help me any on my application? Will my Ws and math-related Cs screw me out of the good schools?

I guess I should also ask: Would it be realistic/possible that I could trasfer from a T2 to T-14 if I managed a very high law-school GPA?

Thanks very much for taking the time to answer my question.
Last edited by czm2100 on Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

hcrimson2014