160/3.1

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
thestork7

160/3.1

Postby thestork7 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:57 pm

Hey guys, just wanted to get your thoughts on what schools I have a realistic shot at. I'm interested in Sports & Entertainment Law, so I'm hoping to go to the NE region or California (preferably Boston or So. Cal)

LSAT: 160
GPA: 3.1

URM: LGBT
Average softs, above average work experience. I graduated a year early with difficult coursework (pre-med/pre-law) while balancing two jobs--hoping that will help the low GPA situation a little bit.

I'm considering applying to FSU (in-state tuition), UF (in-state tuition/legacy), Brooklyn Law School, UC-Hastings (or Davis), UNC Chapel Hill (reach), and Northeastern.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Otunga

Re: 160/3.1

Postby Otunga » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:16 pm

I would suggest to retake for a better chance at the top 14, as I don't think there are many sports/entertainment law jobs to go around, so you should be at a competitive school if you want one. (I know nothing about these jobs other than that they're hard to get.) UCLA or USC could make sense if you just want to stay to work in Los Angeles.

That said, FSU and Florida are solid options if you just want to work in Florida and aren't committed to getting a job in sports/entertainment law. You're actually 1 point above FSU's median LSAT but I suspect you're in the 25th GPA given the median GPA is 3.51. Either way, that's a good option for you with in-state tuition if you want to stay in Florida and aren't fussed about sports/entertainment law.

thestork7

Postby thestork7 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:46 pm

Thanks for the tips. Even if I was able to boost my LSAT score, would I even have a shot at the T-14 with my low GPA? Just browsing through LSN, the 25th percentile GPA is about 3.5. Maybe with a 165, I could roll the dice with an ED T-14?

BigZuck