New to this forum, looking for advice.

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
baileybd2

New to this forum, looking for advice.

Postby baileybd2 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:36 am

Greetings everyone!

I currently attend Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond Va. I am a sophomore with a 3.0 GPA and majoring in accounting (possibly thinking about dual majoring in finance). I would really appreciate some insight on ways to start developing the best resume possible. Some advice that I am really seeking is when to take the LSAT? Volunteering / internship opportunities that would benefit me. All advice is appreciated, thanks in advance!

rinkrat19

Re: New to this forum, looking for advice.

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:47 am

1. Get your GPA up.
2. Have a life.
3. Get your GPA up.
4. Don't worry about the LSAT yet. If you need to take a year after graduation to work and study for it, that's fine. It makes you a better adult human anyway. You can take it the summer between junior and senior year, the fall of senior year, the summer after graduation, etc. If studying for the LSAT is going to negatively affect your grades, don't do it. Wait.
5. Get your GPA up.
6. Get a job or internship during the summers, but don't stress about how prestigious it is. For the purposes of law school admissions, they're pretty much all the same unless you've written a bestselling novel, competed in the Olympics, cured cancer, started Facebook, or served as Personal Aide to the President.
7. Get your GPA up.
8. Do a school club or two if you want, but don't stress over them. As long as your resume isn't totally empty, it's fine. Don't do anything that negatively affects your GPA.
9. Get your GPA up.

sopranorleone

Postby sopranorleone » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:48 am

baileybd2 wrote:Greetings everyone!