165 and a 3.445 Northwestern? Any suggestions?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
jmcerney

165 and a 3.445 Northwestern? Any suggestions?

Postby jmcerney » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:00 pm

Hi TLSers,

Ive been reading for a long time and this is my first post. I'm looking for a bit of advice here and appreciate all of your input. I realize these types of posts are dull, but I do need some help/advice.

I have a Bachelors of Science in Mathematics and Arabic from DePaul University. As I said in the subject line I scored 165 on the LSAT and earned a 3.445 GPA. unfortunately, I cannot retake the LSAT as I am living in Oman, and the test is only offered in June in this region of the world (unless of course I waited another year to apply).

I really want to go to Northwestern. I think it is the best school I can get into in Chicago (home and where I want to study). How do you like my chance for getting in? I think I am right at the lower 25 percent for each score range.

Does my BS in Math and Arabic play to my advantage. I certainly think I would have earned a 4.0 if I majored in say, communications.

Does my unique experience in the Middle East help me out? (I taught English in Saudi last year for McGill University, and will spend this year in Muscat. Oman teaching for Military Technical College).

I would like to work in international relations and/or business. I see a law degree as a great way to break into, and excel in, these fields.

Do you have any other suggestions on places I should look into?

Lastly, what do you know about an LLM in International Human Rights? Worth the time and effort?

Thanks again for reading and responding
JC

WokeUpInACar

Re: 165 and a 3.445 Northwestern? Any suggestions?

Postby WokeUpInACar » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:10 pm