app strategy help/chances! 2.90 GPA, 160/173/171 LSAT - t14?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
supergrapes

app strategy help/chances! 2.90 GPA, 160/173/171 LSAT - t14?

Postby supergrapes » Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:21 pm

2.90 lsada GPA, 160/173/171 lsat scores so retaking is not an option unfortunately. I am not any of the under represented minorities and I do not have a compelling gpa addendum, nor a compelling "why my lsat score dropped addendum. I have a masters degree that shows an upward trend in grades (3.6 gpa). I have a few years of part time work experience... worked all through college and graduate school, but never full time. I have no other compelling reasons why a school should admit me.

Seeking application strategy advice. I am trying to keep my options open for scholarships at the lower end (i.e. some money at 2nd tier schools... don't worry, I'm not gonna dip down too far!). Hoping to stay on the east coast (new england) so I'd like to see what, if any, scholarships i can get at some smaller regional schools around here. Due to kids, family stuff, etc, I'm trying not to move too too far away. I mean, I'd move to another planet for three years for a shot at yale or something, but i'm also a realist :)

So, ED is not really an ideal option for me (but I will if I have to--please see below!). Do have any chance at the top fourteen regular decision? I see that northwestern has been taking most 170+ people lately, anywhere else where I stand a chance regular decision?

Obviously cornell is the best fit for me geographically, but do I even have a shot?