3.7, 173

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
nsv

3.7, 173

Postby nsv » Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:44 am

I want to attend one of the following - Stanford, Berkeley, UCLA, USC, or Loyola. What are my chances of getting into one of those? I am not in a rush, my current job pays well and I am quite happy waiting another year if a higher LSAT score would boost my chances. The 173 was achieved with 95% effort, I studied for 3 months prior to the exam. The only issue might be the fact that my undergraduate degree is in computer science. I have been told different things. A few people have told me that T1 schools look for applicants who have taken courses pertaining to law or have some experience in law. I received my degree in computer science back in 2010 and have been working as a software architect since then. Maybe I should look into getting a Ph.D. in my field and forget about law school. Any help would be much appreciated.

jbagelboy

Re: 3.7, 173

Postby jbagelboy » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:22 am

You dont need to take any classes related to law as an undergraduate. Whoever told you that was completely speaking out of their ass. Your compsci degree makes you even more favorable in several fields of law. Writing strength will be considered at the T6 level, but thats very different from "legal" courses.

That being said, Id definitely take that degree and go make $80-110K as a software engineer for a few yrs before seriously considering law school. Compsci is SO lucrative these days -- your personal ROI for law school or a Ph.D is pretty bad right now. Definitely see what the job market has to offer, especially if you attended a top UG.