Applying from the UK

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
captaindrunk

Applying from the UK

Postby captaindrunk » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:27 pm

Hi, I'm currently studying Law (which is an undergraduate degree in the UK) and seriously considering the prospect of law school in the US after I finish. Ideally I would apply to as many T14 schools as possible. I'm really just wondering if my degree will have any weighting on my application, assuming I do well on the LSAT and graduate with a first class degree (the highest mark available).

Any advice would be appreciated, I know this is somewhat of a unique situation.

twenty

Re: Applying from the UK

Postby twenty » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:51 pm

What sucks for you is that your first class degree doesn't really mean anything to admissions folks in the US. Pretty much all the weight of your application will be in your LSAT score, so definitely work really hard on that. Also, you're going to have a difficult time getting loans for law school if you're an international student.

You're definitely going to be fighting an uphill battle, and your first class degree will mean something in the UK, clearly.

RoaringMice

Postby RoaringMice » Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:44 pm

Are you coming to the US for a JD, or an LLM?

Are you expecting to be able to find a job in the US when you graduate? Unless your LLB is from Oxford and your LLM or JD from Harvard... and even then, this isn't likely to happen. However, if your plan is to work for a UK firm, on US issues, this could make sense.

Do you have the funds to pay for your US legal education? You won't qualify for US loans or most forms of financial aid out of the US, so you'd need to fund this from the UK.

Steveloblaw

Postby Steveloblaw » Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:50 pm