What are my odds at a top 10 school based on my softs? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
afitouri

New

What are my odds at a top 10 school based on my softs?

Post by afitouri » Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:42 pm

3.6 GPA / 168 LSAT. But please read on.

Worked through college, my senior year I was a marketing intern at a non-profit. Was an electronics salesperson prior to that.

Am 1/2 Libyan and a first generation immigrant. Have traveled there numerous times.

Come from a broken family and have witnessed HARD drug abuse and alcoholism, and have experienced homelessness for periods of about 6 months. After my freshman year in high school we were just above the poverty line, and in the past few years we have been definitively impoverished.

4 Letters of recommendation, one from a J.D, and two are absolutely resounded (2 from professors, one from a boss, and one from a family friend who has his own practice, who I also worked for).

So, basically I'm in a situation where my GPA is right around 25th percentile and the LSAT is near 50th. So I'm on the edge of barely getting in. Do you think these softs can tip me over?

What do you think could make it happen?

Motivator9

Bronze

Re: What are my odds at a top 10 school based on my softs?

Post by Motivator9 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:01 pm

Chances are not too stellar but you could get in with an ED. However, you wouldn't get that much $$$ . Is retaking not an option? Hitting then 170+ benchmark would change things.

170: http://mylsn.info/a5yapc

168: http://mylsn.info/ec3cws

bananapeanutbutter

Bronze

Post by bananapeanutbutter » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:27 pm

If you identify as African-American and not Middle Eastern you may be in every where based on URM. Very few AA males have a 168. I'd personally retake for a 172 to give HYS a median.

afitouri

New

Post by afitouri » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:45 pm