2.3-2.5 GPA, 176-180 LSAT, Options? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
workaholic82

Bronze

2.3-2.5 GPA, 176-180 LSAT, Options?

Post by workaholic82 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:45 pm

Background Info: I am a 30 year old with around 4 years of full-time work experience, mostly as a paralegal. I graduated from a strong state school 6 years ago. After scoring a 163-165 on the LSAT twice in 2009, I buckled down this year and, coming from a place of greater maturity and discipline, scored a 176-180. The kicker is this: My GPA from undergrad was a dismal 2.4. I suffered from an undocumented anxiety disorder and failed many classes due to lack of attendance. I also took 3 years off after my freshman year during which I took some courses at a community college, some of which I also failed. While there is a general upward trend over my college career, it's not like I went from a 0.00 semester to straight A's; I was never a stellar student.

Q: Is there any way that my distance from Undergrad teamed with my work experience and potentially good essays and stellar LSAT score could enable me to gain entry into, say, a Northwestern or other T14? Do I stand a chance of garnering full tuition scholarships at some second tier schools because of the LSAT score plus work experience?

Any advice or opinions are greatly appreciated.
Last edited by workaholic82 on Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:02 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Ti Malice

Gold

Re: 2.42 GPA, 177 LSAT, non-trad

Post by Ti Malice » Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:49 pm

Congratulations on your terrific score!