161/2.9 Asian looking to get into a law school in Texas

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
glee87

161/2.9 Asian looking to get into a law school in Texas

Postby glee87 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:03 am

Oh man..looking at all the posts on the board sort of makes me ashamed for posting this, but I would really like to know what my chances are and this forum has been an amazing source of information.

So for my GPA, I have epilepsy and was diagnosed as such while attending UC Berkeley as a Psych and Poli Sci major. I also fought issues with depression and anxiety and it took me about three years to get some help (was the hardest part for me) and find a proper mix of medication that didn't make me go crazy, so my GPA is pretty bad. I improved after that, but not enough to salvage my GPA. I actually wasn't intending on pursuing law after I graduated, but I started interning at an Immigration Law Firm about a year ago and have become really interested in going into law ever since. As far as work experience, I'm still working at that law firm, have about a year and a halfs worth of volunteer service, and worked for several months at a nonprofit.

Another potential snag is that I finished all my core (major related) classes in 2011, but I still have one class left to take and I am wondering how much this gap between taking classes will affect my chances of getting into law school. I had been hoping to take the class at a local CC to save some money, but in my desire to make money and pay off my loans, I haven't been able to sign up for classes.

I'm taking the LSAT again this coming fall and am not dead set on applying then, but sooner the better would be preferable.