3 Years Volunteer Work Abroad/166 LSAT/long story Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
sabza

New

3 Years Volunteer Work Abroad/166 LSAT/long story

Post by sabza » Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:38 am

Hi all, I wanted to see if you could give me some insight into what my chances are at a T14...I think they might be just out of reach :(

I have 3 years volunteer experience in South Africa-2 years working with children with HIV, 1 year working with people in the townships to get government subsidies for formalized housing; and a summer working with orphaned/abused children in Russia.

My GPA (before I took time off to volunteer) was a MESS...2.7 (I have a very good reason for this, which will be discussed in my PS). When I returned to the US, I transferred to a different school, and earned a 3.78 GPA, and graduated from the honors college. However, my lsac gpa factors in everything, so it is a 3.3. There is clearly a strong upward trend. I spent time studying aboard in Germany last summer as well (though that probably means nothing).

I got a 166 on the lsat...which really bothers me because I was PTing much higher. I severely messed up RC. I was -2 LR1, -2 LG, -12 RC, -1 LR2...IDK how I let that happen!

Please let me know what you guys think! I appreciate the help.

Jaqen

Silver

Re: 3 Years Volunteer Work Abroad/166 LSAT/long story

Post by Jaqen » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:14 am

Retake in October.

What was your PT range? Were you doing the PTs timed and under normal testing conditions?

sabza

New

Post by sabza » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:19 am

Jaqen wrote:Retake in October.

What was your PT range? Were you doing the PTs timed and under normal testing conditions?
PTing 172-176...timed conditions-yes...normal, perhaps not ;)