Chances at law school for rising NYU junior?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
NYUGIRL2015

Chances at law school for rising NYU junior?

Postby NYUGIRL2015 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:43 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a rising junior at NYU who is interested in attending law school. My GPA is currently a 3.7, and will be higher once I re-take an Econ class that I got a C+ in the fall of my sophomore year. (I'm aiming to graduate with a ~3.85). I'm set up to major in a mix of marketing, communications, and management in the Gallatin School of Individualized Study, but was thinking of switching to an English major. If I majored in English, I would take classes that weren't graded by the Stern curve, giving me a higher GPA. Plus, I've read that law schools look unfavorably upon students with super-specific majors and prefer a broad liberal arts base.

What do you think about this? Should I change my major or keep it as-is? Furthermore, how do law schools perceive the strength of NYU's undergraduate program?

Thanks!

Clearly

Re: Chances at law school for rising NYU junior?

Postby Clearly » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:02 pm

When you retake a class, LSAC will take both grades in your calculation, so your better off not retaking it strictly law school wise, because you won't undo the damage, you'll just create another grade (and one you've already shown to be a tough grade), just taking English 101 or something would have the same effect on your cumulative GPA.

Also, undergrad doesn't really matter much at all, and neither does major, It basically comes down to GPA, and LSAT. Basically, if you crush the LSAT your GPA is enough to get you into great law schools, if you can't crush the LSAT it won't be worth the expense.

rad lulz

Postby rad lulz » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:20 pm

Nova

Postby Nova » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:21 pm