174 LSAT/ 3.1 GPA

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
baysidenyc

174 LSAT/ 3.1 GPA

Postby baysidenyc » Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:52 pm

Currently deciding between applying to law or going to work for a nonprofit for my undergrad degree (urban studies/ english dual major)

I would like to stay in NYC but I am not sure if any decent schools would accept me due to my GPA. I've been working full time (3.5 years, tech) while at undergrad but has no real relevancy but I am hoping it can explain why my GPA isn't as high as someone who focuses only on school.

I graduated from CUNY with zero debt and some connections to city council members (from taught classes) who can write me recommendation letters.

Is it possible to attend NYU or something similar based on my current stats or will my GPA/School limit my choices? I would consider fordham, cardozo, cuny law but I am not sure if these are worth the cost of attending since I will most likely take out loans.

Clearly

Re: 174 LSAT/ 3.1 GPA

Postby Clearly » Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:56 pm

Very similar applicant here. NY as a smart choice is likely out for you, the only three schools worth attending at sticker in NY are Columbia/NYU/Cornell (and only if you want to stay in NY). However, you're still a competitive applicant at other schools that are worth attending, notably: Northwestern or UVA.

Or you could always shoot for significant money at Fordham/Carbozo etc, as long as you understand getting a job isn't a guarantee, and biglaw is highly unlikely.

baysidenyc

Postby baysidenyc » Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:42 pm

Clearlynotstefan wrote:Very similar applicant here. NY as a smart choice is likely out for you, the only three schools worth attending at sticker in NY are Columbia/NYU/Cornell (and only if you want to stay in NY). However, you're still a competitive applicant at other schools that are worth attending, notably: Northwestern or UVA.