I Hate A- Grades (3.68/176)

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
bananapepper

I Hate A- Grades (3.68/176)

Postby bananapepper » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:44 pm

I'm a longtime lurker, but I had to register today to post this question.

I'm a third year student, and I'm probably applying to schools this Fall. I already took the LSAT (176), so I feel good about that, but my GPA is a struggle.

I barely have any As or Bs... My transcript is almost entirely composed of A- grades. Right now, I have a 3.68. I was hoping to boost that considerably this semester, but I just talked to my professors, and I'm having the same problem: It looks like each class will probably be an A-, unless I get near perfect scores on my finals.

I go to a top small liberal arts school, and I think that professors just expect a little bit more engagement than I have been able to give, because I work two jobs on campus and I am very active in student government.

My question is this: As it stands, how do I look for Chicago, Columbia, and Harvard? Will lower numbers of applicants help me out? Or do I need to give up on K-JD, give up at least one of my jobs, and focus solely on schoolwork for my last year in undergrad, so that I can hopefully pull off a 3.73 or something and apply later. [I would have to take on a bit more undergrad debt, but I'm willing to do that, if it is a huge boost to my app.] Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cobretti

Re: I Hate A- Grades (3.68/176)

Postby Cobretti » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:56 pm

PRgradBYU

Postby PRgradBYU » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:02 pm

Ti Malice

Postby Ti Malice » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:48 pm

Getting over the 3.7 threshold would be helpful for H, though it's less crucial than it used to be. Quit one of your jobs and consider padding your GPA with 12 easy hours of community college coursework over the summer, if at all possible.

jbagelboy