175 LSAT, 3.5 overall GPA, 4.0 degree GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
UsualBumblebee

New

175 LSAT, 3.5 overall GPA, 4.0 degree GPA

Post by UsualBumblebee » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:15 pm

I'm happy with my LSAT, but a 3.5 GPA is pretty damn low. However, I can explain it in an addendum:

I was a biology major for the first 2.5 years in college. I realized after continuously doing worse as the classes went on that I really hated it, and lost interest sometime along the line. So I switched my major to finance (which I really enjoy), and have a perfect 4.0 GPA in that. I'll have finished the degree in 4 semesters (including a summer semester).

My softs are:

- President of my fraternity (previously treasurer; managed about $35,000/semester)
- I've been running a web development business since about 2006; it's slowed down while I focused on school lately, but I've worked with over 25 clients
- Interned as a financial analyst at Morgan Stanley
- Member of the Financial Leadership Association at school
- SAT tutor over the past 4 summers
- Wrote (briefly) for the school newspaper

I know Yale and Stanford are out of the question; but what do y'all think my chances look like for the rest of the T14 schools? I'll also be applying to UT Austin/SMU/Baylor as backups, especially since I live in Texas.

Gold

Re: 175 LSAT, 3.5 overall GPA, 4.0 degree GPA

Post by 052220151 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:55 pm

Don't write a GPA addendum, it won't help in your situation. Your softs are good but won't change anything. You're in Columbia and down. Money is in play. You have an okay shot at Harvard, still less than 50% though.

Eta- with apps coming down younger have a better than 50% shot at H. I'm not sure
Last edited by 052220151 on Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebexness

Gold

Post by rebexness » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:57 pm

Applying early would TCR based on this cycle.