Tisch to a TLS: possible?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
singer19

Tisch to a TLS: possible?

Postby singer19 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:32 am

Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate who definitely wants to go into entertainment law (or perhaps a different kind, since I know these things change) after I finish college. I've been accepted to WashU, Georgetown and also NYU Tisch for performing/singing.

I'm really passionate about attending a TLS such as Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Stanford, Duke, etc. Obviously I will apply to many others, but because I am still not in my freshman year of college I feel I have sufficient time to at least up my chances at being accepted to one I mentioned above.

My question is this: is double-majoring (half Tisch, half NYU pre-law) going to be a rigorous enough curriculum to get me into one of these schools (provided I maintain above a 3.7 average and get a strong LSAT score, intern at firms, etc.?), or is NYU general not strong enough to get me an acceptance?

Secondly, does the fact that I'm applying from an exclusive program within Tisch count for anything (perhaps an added edge of interest to my app, or the knowledge that I'm attending a more "prestigious" part of NYU?) Or is applying to a TLS from NYU just applying, and they won't recognize or care about the exclusivity of Tisch itself?

Thank you!!!

kakistocracy

Re: Tisch to a TLS: possible?

Postby kakistocracy » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:36 am

I'm pretty sure the undergrad you attend (and other softs) pale completely next to GPA and LSAT, which are largely the determining factors when it comes to law school admissions. The general advice seems to be to pick something you're interested in - and do well at it.

RodneyRuxin

Postby RodneyRuxin » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:37 am

I know you're still in high school and all, but you need to learn to use the search function at the bottom of the page.

laxbrah420