Splitter with spotty grad school record...am I doomed?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Fearful

Splitter with spotty grad school record...am I doomed?

Postby Fearful » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:18 pm

Hi, folks --

I have a feeling I know the answer to my main question, but I figured I had little to lose by asking for your input, anyway. I'm new to this site and unfamiliar with a lot of the "local vernacular," as it were, so please bear with me if I misused "splitter" in my Subject line or failed to use relevant abbreviations below. Here's my situation, which is nearly impossible to condense down to fewer words than what you see here:

I graduated from the University of Georgia in 2001, with an undergrad degree in psychology and a lot of research experience in various labs on campus. My undergrad GPA of 2.96 was pathetic -- reflecting a lack of consistent effort. But due mostly to my research experience and a high GRE score (something in the low 1500s out of 1600 on the part that mattered), I got right into a clinical psychology Ph.D. program at another big state university several hours south of here. Two years later, I made the asinine decision to leave that program after I was forced to take a medical withdrawal mid-semester. My two-year GPA there was around a 3.4. Making matters worse, I discovered when I requested my transcript this past fall that that school thinks I owe them tuition money for my last semester, which is impossible due to my having had a full tuition waiver the whole time I was there. In spite of that impossibility, I couldn't produce the $2000 they say I owe quickly enough to slide in under my target schools' deadlines, and contesting that now-ten-year-old debt will require an out-of-state trip to that campus to collect and distribute the requisite documentation. Thus, that transcript is unavailable, at least for the immediate future.