What schools should I apply to?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
rawlsohard

What schools should I apply to?

Postby rawlsohard » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:30 pm

GPA: 3.25 cumulative, 3.7 institutional. major: philosophy. "It's a great major for law," they said. "Philosophy majors score so high on the LSAT," they said.

Institution I graduated from: not very good at all. According to collegeboard, the SAT ranges for my institution are
430-530 reading and 440-550 math. I bombed at a harder school due to crippling intellectual insecurity and transferred because it was easy and I heard that law schools don't care about institutional GPA. in retrospect this may or may not have been a terrible idea.

LSAT: Based on the way my LSAT practice is going, I'm looking at an LSAT in the 170-175 range. Taking in June, applying in fall.

Softs: 6 month WE at a fine dining restaurant, 3 months internship at a local newspaper and 2 years as a tutor (both in school and independently), then a lot of trying to start businesses and failing due to various reasons. I'm 24. if only Ronan Farrow could have this kind of resume.

Letters of rec: I can get glowing letters of recommendation because I look like a Rhodes scholar compared to the average student at the school I graduated from. Presumably someone reviewing my application would realize this and disregard the letters, but the letters will sparkle like Edward Cullen for what it's worth.

Other factors to consider: I have about $95k in debt right now from really bad choices. I'm trying to avoid taking out more than $80k in debt, so something like Cornell causes bricks to come out of my anus.

6-pack: yes.