Advice?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Kite23

Advice?

Postby Kite23 » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:59 pm

Hello I got recommended this site from a friend (his acc.)
Asking for chance predictions here:
I'm a student in Texas (think Baylor,UT,Texas A&M)
3.6 GPA (first semester was a 2.9 but I worked upwards from that)
with a 165 LSAT
Member of a few clubs, two honor societies and did two internships that total over a year of experience with environmental regulation enforcement. I have always held jobs(cashier, food service,etc.)
and I'm a URM. Whats my chances at UT? or UWashington?
If its not likely can you recommend any good substitute? Ive looked at law school predictor and it say UCLA is a possibleity but I cant really see that happening. Isnt that school tougher than UT?
Would it improve my chances of going into UT law if I did 4 years in the Air force first?

I appreciate any advice

francesfarmer

Re: Advice?

Postby francesfarmer » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:08 pm

You need to aim higher. You are a URM meaning you get a significant boost in admissions. Don't go to UW. Blanket all the top law schools in the country.

http://myLSN.info/ptw7r4

And if you joined the airforce, you would get another significant (but less so) boost in admissions.

Edit: more advice: apply super early in the cycle, because admissions are rolling and its easier to get in earlier.

How did you study for the LSAT? If you got a few more points it could make a huge difference for you.

Do you have an LSAC fee waiver?

spleenworship

Postby spleenworship » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:24 pm

I would apply to the whole of the top 20 if I were in your position.

ETA: and maybe a couple of schools in TX like SMU as backups if you want to stay in TX.

Kite23

Postby Kite23 » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:30 pm