Ok, hit me. Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
purplepanther44

New

Ok, hit me.

Post by purplepanther44 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:53 am

Hi everyone. I'm new here and have been browsing around looking for answers but haven't quite found what I'm looking for. So here goes....what are my chances of getting into a T14 or just under (think down to 18) with the following....

1. 3.82 UGPA (in engineering)
2. 163 LSAT (ouch, I know. I had a rough day. But let's assume I'm not retaking given timelines)
3. PhD from an Ivy League
4. 7 years work experience post-PhD, and am currently a VP (so, have been successful)
5. As an undergrad, I had significant research/work experience as well, including many awards. Held significant leadership positions as an undergrad and graduate student.

Obviously my LSAT is going to hurt me. But I haven't seen much of a real discussion of soft factors for older students such as myself (outside of taxguy discussions) that really address the question of will these "soft" factors push that sub-par LSAT into acceptable territory? I'm agonizing. Help! Thanks :)

stillwater

Gold

Re: Ok, hit me.

Post by stillwater » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:56 am

people are going to tell you to retake. you are just leaving too much on the table. as for the timeline, theyll say its worth deferring a year.

also, fyi, taxguy was a joke.

noobishned

New

Post by noobishned » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:57 am

You'll probably make it in to the top 20. FWIW, almost all other responses are going to ask why you are going to law school and/ or why you can't retake.

bizzybone1313

Silver

Post by bizzybone1313 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:58 am

How many hours of prep did you do more or less for your LSAT score? Since you are a PhD, you probably have a high ceiling.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:58 am