3.5/163/Military

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
JCGibson10

3.5/163/Military

Postby JCGibson10 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:55 pm

Thought I'd make a thread to see if I could get any valid feedback. I am an Active Duty Army Officer that was recently selected for the Funded Legal Education Program (FLEP), which means that I will maintain Active Duty status while at law school and become a JAG officer upon graduation/passing the bar.

LSDAS GPA: 3.48 (USMA at West Point, not sure if this will give a slight bump or not)
LSAT: 163 (only took it one time (October 2011) and am currently deployed to Afghanistan so I couldn't retake)
Military Experience: 3 years active in May 2013, currently in Afghanistan. Does fact that I will have a guaranteed job as an Army JAG upon graduation gives me a bump or not?
Outstanding LORs: 2 from College, 2 from my Chain-of-Command
Personal Statement revolved around my deployment. Let's assume that it is "great" for the sake of discussion.

As of now, I have been accepted to Arkansas (safety) and Wake Forest (24k/yr scholly). My applications went under review between January 4th-January 9th. What are my chances at the following schools?

University of Alabama
University of Georgia (My top choice.. so if any one has any insight into UGA admission, it would be much appreciated)
University of Notre Dame
University of Columbia (I know that I am a HUGE stretch...mainly applied because they gave me a Waiver)

Appreciate any thoughts and feedback.

Re: 3.5/163/Military

Postby 052220151 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:37 pm

JCGibson10 wrote:Thought I'd make a thread to see if I could get any valid feedback. I am an Active Duty Army Officer that was recently selected for the Funded Legal Education Program (FLEP), which means that I will maintain Active Duty status while at law school and become a JAG officer upon graduation/passing the bar.