Odds of getting in: STEM major?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
dnptan

Odds of getting in: STEM major?

Postby dnptan » Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:57 pm

Hi all,

I am a graduate of Boston University (2012) double majoring in Biology and Biomedical Engineering.

I've spent the last few months working full-time as an associate for a Prior Art firm. I specialize in patent/literature searching for Medical Devices (Invalidity, Patentability, Freedom-to-Operate). We have clients such as J&J and Novartis; our IT group worked on the Apple vs. Samsung case.

I've made the decision to apply to law school, and would like your input on my chances considering the following criteria:

1) Late application - I am cutting it close for (1 month from deadline at the EARLIEST) most schools
2) LSAT score: 170
3) GPA: 3.82 (Double major in Engineering [Magna] and Science [Summa])
4) Experience with IP
5) I am not a US citizen (Philippines)

I would like to make it into one of the T14s, in particular:
1) Stanford
2) Yale
3) Harvard
4) NYU

Below are some interesting facts about me. Perhaps someone could help me leverage these for a stronger application?

Misc Information:
1) I have 2 solid recommenders (and 2 spares): One has been my mentor since Freshman Year and I've taken 3 classes with him; The other was my senior project advisor for a novel project which my friend and I tried to start a company with (failed on the grounds of patentability).
2) I am a capable writer, although this might be skewed because I went to school with Engineers. I am trained in technical writing.